T Nation

Wine Thread

Oh Hai! so once in a while I like to sip a glass of wine with dinner. My favs seem to be in the cabernet family. I also like a Pino Nior.

What amazes me is the flavor combinations, I'm looking over a list not to long ago and one bottle is boasting deep grap and berry flavors with the finish of tanned leather. WTF! Another had coffe bean and cigar as flavors. Who comes up with this?

What purpley goodness do you enjoy?

V

Grape Drink

Obviously you're not from my 'hood...it's Purple Drank!

Vegita,

I am not an expert but if you don't mind the opinion of an average guy, my favorites are:

Cabernet sauvignon - Chateau Ste. Michelle
Chianti classico - Gabbiano
Pinot Noir - Cavit collection

what I like to do is check out the wine list at a restaurant I respect, figuring they know more than I do, then pick up something from their list later rather than pay their outrageous prices.

reds are my favorites, unfortunately, moderation is not my strong suit so I have little use for a cork once it is pulled - been trying to stay away from alcohol but it sure is good...

Judge me, I don't care, but I much prefer this thread to the Beer thread.

Favorite wine for a big night or classy dinner? Opus One

Favorite wine for a cheap mellow night at home or stay in date? Toasted Head Cabernet Sauvignon

I semi despise those who are overly snobby in regards to wine, but I would like to become more educated on the topic.

Do those airator things do anything or are they just a gimmick? Anyone have any experience with them?

V

one of these doohickeys.

V

I've had a few Spanish wines I really like: Rojo and Garnache are two I really like

I like Shiraz but not really a fan of Cabernet Sauvignon

There's a tapas and wine bar downtown that has "flights" ... that's a good way to experiment with what flavors work with what food and see what you like.

As far as a good dessert wine: Madeira wine is awesome .. we have tons of it around here