T Nation

Will Doctors Ever Learn?

How long will it be before doctors, endocrinologists, etc learn how to properly treat patients with low testosterone? Will they learn? And, all those doctors that won't prescribe an AI because it's considered a 'cancer/bodybuilding drug' How's any treatment supposed to be successful without keeping estrogen levels in the normal range? Where is the root of the problem? Are they not teaching this in medical school; or is it the pharmaceutical companies/ insurances?

I'm not a doctor or anything, but I have been researching this for a couple of months..And, my logic tells me that testosterone + an AI(if high estrogen levels are comfirmed) is what should be apart of every TRT protocol- At the very least. That's not including the benefits of HCG.

They're making it way too hard to find proper care. Do you think this will ever change? Sorry, just venting. lol.

As KSMan and others have written about, there is simply no interest (read: profit) to develop official TRT protocols, or seek FDA approval of ancillary drugs for the purposes we use them for, because these drugs are generic. Nobody is going to spend millions of dollars to do the required studies. So at least for the foreseeable future, TRT is more art than science and its effective use will be limited to a fairly small cadre of doctors. Most physicians are simply reluctant to prescribe drugs off-label for an unofficial treatment protocol.

Just as an aside, not everyone on TRT needs an AI (lucky bastards.) It should not automatically be prescribed along with T. Prescribing an AI to someone with good E2 levels would be harmful. If the labs come back after the initial few weeks of treatment showing elevated E2, which they usually do, then an AI is in order.