T Nation

Will Bench Progress on Starting Strength?

I'm 14 and I've been working out on and off for the past 2 years, but fairly consistently for the past year. The thing is I've pretty much only been training bench and pretty much neglected my lower body. I know realize that the squat and deadlift are extremely important.

I'm planning on beginning Starting Strength in about a week. Anyway my question is: Do you think my bench could still progress from Starting Strength, considering that I've been benching once a week for the last year?

www.crossfitoakland.com/Rip_Lectures.jpg

Yeah I wouldn't personally take any lifting advice from that guy.

seems like you don't know who he is.

first off whats your bench at?

secondly, eat enough and you can add weight to the bar every week. start conservatively, it may seem easy the first few weeks but trying to add weight to the bar twice a week, even just once a week, gets very difficult once you catch up to your normal 5 rep max

I wouldn't be surprised at all if your bench went up. You'll be getting stronger overall. Never a bad thing. Glad you decided to join the good side of the gym.

What are you going to do with all your leftover hair gel reserves though?

JK

Best of luck. Squat deep and pull hard!

My bench max is 210lbs BTW. Height- 6' Weight- 150lbs. I already eat a ton but have a really fast metabolism. I'll start eating even more and I think I can definitely gain 10-15 lbs.

Yeah, you need to gain some weight.

If you pretty much only train bench that leads me to believe that your back muscles are lagging. (read muscle imbalance) know that starting strength is infamous for causing muscle imbalances. So for you I would recommend you find a program that calls for adequate upper back exercises.look for a body building or powerlifting template and stick to that.

and one question: when you say you bench 210 is that a half rep or are you lowering the bar low enough to touch your chest?