T Nation

Wide Grip or Normal Pullups?

Which is better for lat development and overall back strength, normal or wide-grip pullups? I'm actually more interested in the lat stimulation part. Thanks in advance.

I think it's wide-grip...

but if you're a beginner, I honestly don't think it matters much. In fact, as a beginner I think chin-ups would be best.

I honestly could not tell you why... but I'm going on instinct. =P And experience, I've been doing them as a newbie and I've improved my back tremendously.

It depends on your lat strength relative to your body weight. At first you may not be able to lift your body weight by trying to isolate your lats...they may not be strong enough to lift your bodyweight alone (biceps still play a part but to a lesser degree than they do during shoulder width pullups). Its a similar situation to when you started benching, think if you tried to go wide right away and hit your chest more then your triceps, and starting with really heavy weight right away, it would be hard to do the exercise properly.

I think it also depends on whether when you do a pullup you can keep your arms more in the frontal plane, if they drift really far into the sagittal plane then you probably use a good deal of biceps and you will have a fairly hard time switching straight over to a wide grip. But to answer your original question I think a little wider than shoulder width pullups are best for lat development. Your scapular ROM is near maxed out at that point and there is not much of a need to go wider...

Wide grip for lat emphasis

As far as pullups go, I'm no newbie I can do about 25 straight. I do, however, still have pretty puny lats. I'm just lookin for a better way to hit them.

Some people are arguing that wide grip pull-ups stimulate the lats more because their is less assistance from the biceps. I don't know that more bicep assistance necessarily means less lat activation.