T Nation

Why Use Steroids?

I'm a newbie to training, only 20 years old. My questions are:

1. Why do you feel the need to use steroids?
    1. Do you even consider how you are messing with your body? (in ways you probably don't even know?)
    2. I don't comprehend why the steroids route has to be used when for example we had greats like Steve Reeves accomplish brilliant physiques employing an all natural diet? (without the steroids)

Best regards Shire.

Because once you get into your thirties and forties you have one-fifth the amount of testosterone you had when you were eighteen?

I use HRT (hormone replacement Therapy) to replace depeted levels back to a normal range.

Post me again when your 40, if your still training. That's when I started after competing in powerlifting for 20 years. I'm not advocating you start at age 20 but don't buy into the media's demonization of AAS.

1. Because when you actually have been training for a long time your training eventually comes to a halt and an increase in the diet turns into a lot more fat than muscle compared to years before.

2. Of course we do. You don't read these boards much, do you? Most people who have used/are using have done their proper research beforehand (I'm on my first cycle now) and know what they are doing to their endocrine system, as well as how to restore it to homeostasis once the cycle is over.

Saying we are "messing with our body in ways we don't know" is a very ignorant statement to make, especially when you probably don't know the first thing about endocrinology or even biochemistry for that matter.

1. We are not all born with unbelievable genetics. Unfortunately, life hands us lemons sometimes and we have to deal with it.

I hope that fulfills them all, and please do some more research before making any ignorant comments.