Why the Late Night Munchies?

I eat the 6 small meals per day. Start off with a healthy good breakfast (egg whites, toast). Mix in a couple good protien shakes per day (40g of protein each), and a good high protein dinner.

Ever since I started lifting with a trainer, I am starving…like seriously famished, late at night. It’s killing my weight loss. I couldnt cut right now if my middle name was razor.

Any advice on how to avoid late night munchies, and if I cant resist, what is the best thing to eat?

Thanks in advance!

-Jeff

It’s probably that you’re used to eating a whole bunch of food at dinner, and now you’re eating much less, and your stomach expects much more.

In a few weeks, it should go away as your stomach shrinks and your mind begins to grasp the idea that your six meals are it.

In the meantime,

1. drink a bunch of water before your last meal. It’ll help get you full
  2. make your last meal a BIG plate of meat and veggies (and healthy fats). Veggies get and keep you full, as does meat. Salad with half-pound of chicken/steak is my last meal, usually eaten three hours before bedtime.
  3. Eat closer to bedtime. 2 hours is plenty to have the food digest before you go to sleep, and eating closer to when you go to sleep could keep you from being hungry.
  4. Eat less shakes and more solid food. They keep you fuller longer.
  5. Take your fish oil. The EFA’s increase your body’s supply of leptin, which is a hormone that regulates satiaity(sp?).
  6. Switch to Metabolic Drive for your last meal of the day. Same gig as point #2.
  7. Take HOT-ROX. I don’t normally recommend supplements to newbies, but I figured the list was large enough that you could know it and not use it unless you’re really, really desperate. One of the elements in HOT-ROX (I think it’s the yohimbe) acts as an appetite suppressant. It’s not a major effect, but it does work.