T Nation

Why is Weight Training Important to You?

I wanna know why is weight training important to you

Good fun. Time for me to practice mindfulness and being in the moment. Muscles. Muscles

2 Likes

It’s the most effective way I know of to get bigger and stronger.

6 Likes

Unless I’m doing some kind of hard physical work on a regular basis I feel restless. If I was a farmer in the olden days or something like that I wouldn’t feel the need to train. Also I want to be stronger than people. And bigger. When I walk around in public, people move out of my way, it seems like a good thing.

2 Likes

I like all of your answers & agree with them all. I should rephrase this question… What type of person do you think you would be today if you weren’t able to weight train and have that as a part of your life? What sort of characteristic has it developed into you as a person?

Thats right big daddy that’s why lifting is a no brainer

I absolutely agree

Have you tried clavicle lengthening surgery?

3 Likes

So when I have to do something physical with other people, I can show them up. This is more socially acceptable than the only alternative, hanging my genitals out at them.

3 Likes

Unmuscular.

None. I’m good at this because I lift with characteristics already developed elsewhere.

Smaller and weaker.

1 Like

I suck at all sports with a ball, not flexible enough for gymnastics, hate swimming and am slow at running ( two seasons of XC proved that). I walked into the gym and was able to squat my bodyweight on the first try. Haven’t stopped since!
I much say, lifting feels a lot better and makes me feel like a badass since I suck relatively less. Still can’t resist a good metcon or cardio session though

2 Likes

Random and somewhat potentially un-associated thoughts:

I honestly think it’s something primal and instinctual as far as drive.

I remember watching Conan when I was just a kid and thinking that’s who I want to be when I grow up.