Why is This Test Answer Wrong?

I’m studying for my FE and came across something that I found weird.

I answered the question based on my calcs, and since both C&D were the same I just chose one.

Weird.

Looks like a bug/typo.

Yeah looks like a bug to me, why else would there be 2 identical answers?

Probably a typo. They probably wanted answer D to say 1000m/sec

It just begs the question “when is 900m/sec NOT 900m/sec?”

PS what’s your FE?

[quote]RWElder0 wrote:
It just begs the question “when is 900m/sec NOT 900m/sec?”[/quote]

When Chuck Norris is the one who fired the gun.

[quote]JLu wrote:
PS what’s your FE?[/quote]

FE is the Fundamental Engineering Test

same as “EIT” engineer in training

i’m taking it b/c i’ve been out of college for a while and haven’t used 90% of what i learned and don’t want to forget any of it. who knows whats gonna happen in the job market. gotta be prepared!

And don’t you know to always pick C when in doubt?

Here we go. First convert 3000 RPM into Revolutions per Second, which is 50 RPS.

Now convert to what 1 Rev/Second is. 1/50 = .02 seconds for one Revolution.

So we have 1 Revolution = .02 seconds. The 20 degree is 20/360 or 1/18th of a Revolution. (Math is .02/18).

20 degrees = 1.111 x 10^-3 Seconds. Invert that and you get exactly 900m/second.

BG

I’m so glad that taking it was a requirement to graduate from my college. Luckily, I got exactly a 70, which is what I needed to pass. When I took it, it was the last time they allowed graphing calculators and mine could do integrals and derivations on it, wohoo!

[quote]B rocK wrote:
JLu wrote:
PS what’s your FE?

FE is the Fundamental Engineering Test

same as “EIT” engineer in training

i’m taking it b/c i’ve been out of college for a while and haven’t used 90% of what i learned and don’t want to forget any of it. who knows whats gonna happen in the job market. gotta be prepared![/quote]