T Nation

Why is My Squat Low, DL Reasonably High?

Hi everybody, I'm relatively new to squatting and weightlifting in general. I started in late february because I wanted to start training for basketball next year. Since then, I've been doing a vertical jump development program which is mainly just squats, leg curls and calf raises. Here were my starting stats:

Squat- 175 lbs x 8, smith machine, half squats (I know you want to smack me in the face for doing this!)
Deadlift- 155 lbs x 8 good form

Now, tonight, 9 weeks later, I realize my squats were extremely lacking and I needed to start doing them on a real rack with a real ROM. The week before tonight, I squatted around 240 x 5 on the smith, still not very deep. Tonight, I squatted about 200 completely ATG with a free bar. I could only get 7 reps in. This was kind of disappointing, because a large goal I have is to squat 350 x 5 before basketball season this november. And lemme tell you, 110 seems like alot less than 150.

Anyway, each workout before this "real" one I felt excruciating burns in my quads and that was about it. Tonight, I felt it all around my legs, and even worse burns. My knees have also been hurting a lot and I think it's due to the smith and the bad form. I'm really glad I switched. On the smith squats, my weight went up really fast, like 10 lbs a week. Since my squat has decreased significantly, can I expect to be up to at least 250 x 5 by late May? I want to get 5+ pounds a week.