T Nation

Why is ME Not Ideal for Beginners?

What if I am a coach, and it just so happens that I am perfectly capable of teaching someone how to squat perfectly in just a few minutes? If trainers do not want beginners to get injured, why not just instruct their athletes to do certain movements with near perfect technique? Isn't the "you can get hurt with the max effort method unless you're advanced" dogma bullshit? Don't you think it's a little overrated?

What other reasons why the max effort method is not ideal for beginners?

Thank you!!

yeah very fucking overrated.

If you want to run a marathon just go out and run it tomorrow. Who gives a damn about conditioning.

Same thing with baseball players, I dont care if you pull your hamstring for the first half of the season just do a full all out sprint during the game.

Maybe you shouldn’t be coaching if you think people should be training.

[quote]Airtruth wrote:
yeah very fucking overrated.

If you want to run a marathon just go out and run it tomorrow. Who gives a damn about conditioning.

Same thing with baseball players, I dont care if you pull your hamstring for the first half of the season just do a full all out sprint during the game.

Maybe you shouldn’t be coaching if you think people should be training.[/quote]

What do you think is the ideal (and/or quickest) way to condition someone to be able to handle max loads? And how long will it take for a novice trainee to go from 5x5 to westside with a max effort session?

Again with this? Really?

Oh don’t worry about ME not being for beginners, OP.

And you won’t need a spotter either as a beginner.

Besides, you’re likely much stronger than you think you are.
Doing 300-400 pounds more than you normally use should do the trick.

I suggest waiting until the gym is mostly empty save a few weak, old people.
That way, there won’t be any he… erm… distractions.

Report back with the results as soon as you can, we believe in you.