WHY Is Cardio Catabolic?

I’ve been here for a while and read all the posts about how endurance work is catabolic and the devil for muscle gain. I’ve never actually seen why it is though. I tried search but didn’t come up with much (feel free to flame if you can come up with the answer easily with search). I’m looking for an actual physiological breakdown as to why it is catabolic (surely it must be more than the expansion of energy), and what is the best way to minimise the catabolic effects. I play aussie rules which is played on grounds much bigger than soccer, rugby, and grid iron fields. Endurance is a key requirement.

im no expert by any means but i guess they’re not trying to say that cardio is catabolic necessarily but that putting your body in a negative nitrogen balance is. the addition of long bouts of cardio will put your body in a negative nitrogen balance faster than weight training alone. i believe that as long as your nutrition is sound around these cardio sessions (i.e. taking in a moderate amount of protein before and after) you should not lose any great amount of muscle doing up to 30-40 minutes a day if you want. this may not be accurate if you’re a true ectomorph. those guys have it tough. some guys put themselves in a negative nitrogen balance pickin up a pencil.

all strenous exercise is catabolic, i mean you are putting energy demands on your body. Which diverts blood away from the alimentary canal(inhibiting digestion) and supplying gases and releasing stored nutrients to tissue. This “releasing” is a catabolic process, thats the definition really of a catabolic pathway.

When talking about cardio being catabolic, people generally mean that long distance, or endurance cardio, tends to put an excessive amount of stress on your tissue. Excessive is relative, mainly meaning it really breaks down more than you’d want it to.