T Nation

Why I Bet $500 on Rampage

A lot of friends think I’m nuts to bet $500 or two weeks pay (STUDENT that works part time see below)on Rampage. The following are reasons I did.

1. Odds on Sports Interaction has Jackson as a 3.25 to 1 underdog (Bet $100, get $325). As well you get a 10% deposit bonus for it. So if I were to win, I would win $1787.50. (Note: They changed the numbers to 2.75 to 1 underdog, now @ 2.37 to 1)

Most sport bookies have Jackson a 2 to 1 underdog, so I’m getting the best reward per dollar of risk that I’ve seen.

(Note: I can’t say I know much about Sports Interaction as this is my first time betting, but it is onshore for me, (Canadian Indian Reserve) and has been around for 10 years, and at one time was endorsed by Buffalo Bills QB Jim Kelly at one point).

1. Liddell has been hyped to the max by the UFC. If you look at his last 7 fights, there isn’t anybody there that is anywhere near the caliber of Jackson. You could make the argument that Couture is. But if you look at who Courture has beaten in the 205 division the past 3 years, you get Victor Belfort and Mike Van Arsdale (Ortiz about 3 and half years ago).

On top of that, you could also state that in the last two fights between Liddell and Couture, they were “iffy” KO’s. In their first rematch, Couture was KO’d 30 seconds after an eye poke. In their second rematch, KO’d right after Couture slips and drops his hands to balance himself out.

Just because Liddell knocks out B grade fighters in a weak UFC 205 lbs division doesn’t make him a great fighter. It does make him very marketable though.

1. Liddell may not be physically ready. One due not enough time to rehabilitate his torn MCL and two, he’s been on a roller coaster few months promoting 300 and doing media events.