Why Drop the Ab Workout?

Although I am not afraid to lose the muscels in my stomach, I have always wondered why everyone suggests to drop the ab work for now. If you are trying to bulk, whats the matter with an ab exercise at the end of your workout? Can someone explain? Also is it possible to maintain your abs while gaining weight?

Thanks.

If your doing enough core lifts that work the abs, it only takes a couple sets of weighted situps maybe once or twice a week to get them growing good. Ive worked mine since I started training and now I can do 30 reps with an 80lb dumbell.

Their going to really give my physique an impressive look when I get my bf down a little lower in the future. I want mine to look like bricks of muscle for the girls and what not. Also you can maintain your abs for a long time if you keep your diet in check.

Shoot for eating 500 calories more than your body needs to stay the same weight. You will prob keep them for a year that way if you didn’t ever cheat. Do expect some increase but hope for just 1% of bf per 3 or 4 months increase.

You may be misinterpreting the advice given.
Often beginners will work abs multiple times weekly while neglecting the best core exercises (squats and dead lifts of course). There is no point in doing 10000 swiss ball crunches per week while cutting kcals.

The end result will be someone who is generally still weak, but has some moderate strength-endurance in their abs.

And for how much time invested?

A much more effective routine will incorporate some ab work but never to the point of hindering progress on the more important core lifts (squats and deads and all their variants).

Train abs at the end of a workout, but only when you won’t be doing anything that needs abs for the next day or so (squats, deads, overhead press, etc).

abs recovery super fast, i wouldn’t worry to much about what tenken said, they are like the fucking calves, resilient.