Why Do You Workout?

There are many reasons to go to the gym and improve yourself, and most people have more than one reason for doing so I am interested in what motivates T-Nation members?

Mine are:

respect from other men 40%

improve sporting ability 30%

atract opposite sex 30%

this is true,at times im not sure what they are but for some reason or a nother i keep finding my self back at the gym, for me i like the pain, the respect, and the way it makes me feel after im done,im new to T-Nation and these topics get me thinking and motivate me to keep pushing harder thinks every one for taking the time to give feedback and your opinions

umm… increase athletic preformance… and as a hobby I guess. It’s fun!

Because prior to working out, I was keeping myself ‘weak’ and otherwise treating my body like crap.

All-natural cure for depression/narcissim.

I workout so I stay stronger than all the low lifes that work for me. It makes getting things done easier.

I want to live long enough to be a burden to society.

To get stonger…faster…more powerful

Become stronger
Be a better fighter
Look good nekkid

In that order

[quote]Mad Titan wrote:
To get stonger…faster…more powerful[/quote]

But why?

for sports, women, fighting, health etc…?

1. because I feel much better about myself whan I am strong and fit than when I am overweight and mushy

2. because at 38, I gotta start taking care of myself better

3. because my oldest daughter will be a teenager before I know it, and that means …boyfriends.

I have to go with the “Look Good Nekkid” group. I have a rather large fat guy trapped inside of me who tries to escape on a regular basis. I have to train to keep him in check.

I strongly believe that 95% of the male population that starts weightlifting does it for the poon. In the same vein, those who stick with it for more than a year end up doing it for many more reasons, health, athletic ability, hobby, and of course, still the poon.