T Nation

Why Do You Lift?

Most of us say we lift for size and/or strength.

But what is the underlying reason for busting your ass in the gym? What does that size/strength get you in the end?

I can think of four reasons:

1. Health
    This was the main reason I started lifting 6 years ago. Statistically, I was at risk for heart attack, stroke, diabetes, and a shitload of other maladies. I intend to be around to enjoy my grandchildren, and to have a good quality of life in the process.

2. Performance
    Strength and endurance help me perform better in sports. It helps with even daily tasks, like carrying groceries or changing a tire.

3. Aesthetics
    LGN = Look Good Naked

4. Personal growth
    Doing something difficult, having a plan of attack, sticking with it, and seeing positive results builds character and confidence.

How about you?

The reason I ask is because sometimes I think we forget about the big picture. For example, if your main goal is health, it doesn't do much good to go to an extreme where you end up with nerve damage, neck problems, ripped tendons, etc. Everything needs to be kept in balance in order to achieve your ultimate goals.

Also, I think people sometimes vary on their goals and there is nothing wrong with that. I sometimes see posts where people judge others because they don't share the identical goals that they have, as if their goals are any more "real" or "valid" than the goals of someone else. Instead of judging someone else's goals, maybe people could offer advice on helping people achieve the goals they do have.

Just my 2 cents.

shut up