T Nation

Why Do You Do What You Do?

This is for all you adults out there - so like, 95% of members. Why do you do what you do? Why do you have your current job? Reading through some training logs, and hearing people give details here and there about their jobs, and I just got curious.

Do you actually enjoy it? Did you stay in the same field for a long time and work your way up to the top? Do you hate it but feel like the money is good enough to stay? Are you just doing it for something to pay the bills, but would/will switch when something better comes along?

Related to that, have you always had a field you’ve been in, or when you switch jobs are they pretty different? This seems to be case for more blue collar type jobs.

As I begin thinking about my future plans and what I’d like to do with myself, I’d like to hear from you guys, just get your stories.

How old are you? Are you just starting out? The world/work market has changed…((( A lot )))
When I graduated college(1978) as a aerospace engineer I held one job for 30 years. Yep I only had one job my entire life. At 55 I had made so much money in the stock market and my company offered a early retirement I said what the hell I’m F-ing sick of working for the man. That was 11 years age and it was the best decision of my life.

1 Like

I’m 19. Starting college this fall. Have always had at least one job since I was 12, but obviously those aren’t careers.

I’m sure the 30 years between college and retirement weren’t super fun but it sure made the past decade a good one for you! That’s awesome man.

1 Like

What are you studying in college? Can you make any money with that knowledge?

Haven’t quite decided yet. There’s a lot that interests me.

I think I would enjoy teaching, but I do want to do something that pays well (obviously). Being in social work is also interesting, but ditto on low pay.

I’m smart enough to do something in a math or science related field, but have ZERO interest in that kind of stuff.