T Nation

Why Do Men 'Lift' More Than They Can Lift?

So this is something that's been severely peeving me at my gym lately. (Sorry if the ladies feel left out, but I've never witnessed this with them.) I'm not talking about,"Damn! Missed that PR attempt...(sets BB down on safety rack)...better luck next week..."

I mean looking like a retarded camel giving birth on the last 4-5 reps of EVERY working set of your new and improved total body lat pulldowns or asking me to give you a spot and after I've literally lifted half the weight up for you for two straight reps you still have the balls to mutter, "one more!" even though you're only lifting up the right half of the loaded BB anymore.

I honestly don't understand, and can't say I've ever had this mentality since I started training. I understand that there's a thing called pride and men want to appear strong, but does the "perks" of hitting a number seriously outweigh looking like the biggest turd in the universe while doing it?

I think the newb with a buck 35 on his back squatting to proper depth and knowing how to recruit his hips properly looks more badass than any douche who can throw 3 plates on and...well...like I said...retarded camel. Hell, the newb with a broomstick on his back looks better!

Any insight?

Machismo.

I this a lot at my gym, where guys come down with ILS (Imaginary Lat Syndrome) the moment they walk in the door before ever touching a weight.

I have a video I'll link later ( or search yotube for "nardpuncher" and "how not to work out") of a guy I see that ONLY benches (from what I've seen) and ONLYdoes 225lbs with terrible form. I mean this guy doesn't warm up and hasn't gone above 225 the whole 2 years or so I've been seeing him at the gym.

My gym is typically okay about this, although not great. The big guys squat properly, the little guys don't. The mentality, I believe, isn't just male specific.