T Nation

Why Do I Keep Stalling on Strength?

I've been lifting on and off for over 8 years now, and when I mean on and off I mean usually I would come home from HS/college and sign up for the 3 month YMCA summer program for access to the gym, and work out during those three months with no real direction. Since graduating, I have had a strong desire to improve upon myself and really push my body to the limits, and luckily stumbled on the site just over a year ago.

I have attempted several programs from TTT, to Starting Strength, to now WS4SB3, and not seeing the gains I expected to. My biggest problem is that I continue to add weight to the bar the first few weeks of the program, perhaps finding my max weights, and then just stall for weeks on end. I can perhaps push out an additional rep or two over those weeks, but how will I ever obtain the look I want with only adding 2.5lb plates every 3-4 months? Shouldn't I be putting on more mass at this stage? I consider myself extremely weak, and have incorrectly assumed I should be seeing great newbie gains at this point.

I'd be glad to break down my daily nutrition if that would be the issue, but I'm eating up to 9 times a day right now (very clean) and don't think that's the true problem. Pre and post workout shakes, protein at each meal, carbs around workout, cut off carbs at night, etc.

My progress over the last year has been almost next to none, and I'm extremely frustrated.

I've attached a 10 month progress picture...can you tell which one was taken first? That's exactly why I'm frustrated. I didn't think it was needed to include all angles of a performance thread, since I'm not asking to be critiqued. Just thought it would be easy to show my problem with one simple picture.