Why Can I Not Feel a Chest Pump?

I’ve been lifting for 10+ years and chest has always been a weak spot for me. I’ve tried correcting my form, I’ve tried more weight, less weight, more sets, less sets, more reps, less reps…

yet I still have trouble growing my chest. I’m definitely shoulder dominate. Dad had naturally big shoulders, I have naturally big shoulders that grow with little effort. So my shoulders feel it way more than my chest UNLESS I’m doing machines. If I do a sitting chest press machine my chest BURNS. I don’t get it, what is up with that? is my form simply that bad and I’ve never corrected it properly so the machine guidance does wonders? I’m confused.

I’ve only started doing machines recently but I think I’ll stick with it and see what happens after a few months.

Could be any number of reasons. If you found the solution do you really care why?

3 Likes

Try dips

I’ve only recently added them, but I’m seeing early gains already. I could never get a pump from barbell/dumbell pressing like I get from dips.

Flyes?

1 Like

How much do you incline bench? rep 225 on flat bench?
What is your heaviest press variation with dumbells?

In the meantime do these as warm up and/or finisher with every chest workout…

I can do 225 flat 10 times. Incline barbell I haven’t done in a while.

I normally progress from 60 to 75 on dumbbells. my current training block will have me tap out at 75. I may possibly start pushing to 80s in the next block but I dunno, at this point 80s do a number on my joints.

I’m starting to do flys as a warmup, and a lot of machine presses. so far I do get a bit more of a pump this way, we’ll see.

20 push ups, every minute on the minute for 50 minutes.

You will get a chest pump.

5 Likes

pre-exhausting with fly’s or pushups helps, I do end up getting a small pump but it goes away so quickly. Like, I am rarely sore in the chest where as arms or shoulders can stay sore for a day or so

Yeah, try the thing I wrote. Soreness for days.