T Nation

Why Bulk Up When You Can Get Down?

Before I go on, let it be known that I’ve been dancing for four years. It gives me a different kind of strength than most people. I have functional strength, yes, but also agile strength. It helps a lot, even in day-to-day life. As an example, I keep a bowl of microwave-able popcorn on top of my refrigerator, so that I can just reach in and grab a packet to cook at any time.

The problem is that my fridge is just a bit tall. A normal man would shrug his shoulders and go without his popcorn, but years of dancing have given me the agility I need to use a short step-ladder to retrieve my tasty treat. It’s stuff nobody ever thinks about. Little conveniences that make me glad I dance.

I’ll never understand why some guys waste time getting buff. They’re bigger, sure, but that just weighs them down, I find. The bigger they are, the harder they fall. If such a man was to fall from my step-ladder, he would feel more pain than I do, because of a little something I call “The Gravitational Force”.

In more scientific terms, he is more massive, therefore he does not like falling. For something a bit more practical, think of a big guy dancing. Not very graceful, is it? Think of your average club-goer, lumbering around. Now think of me. I’m tall, 6’2’’, and I weigh 140lbs. My grace is a sight to behold. Seriously, because I reject the typical “Get big” mentality and instead focus on grace, I get looks. When I hit the clubs and dance, people pay attention. Guys give me lots of looks, and at the same time, I see their ladies laugh at them for not dancing as well as I do.

Really, I don’t want to sound conceited, I just think you should all consider belly dance, like I have. It has benefits beyond the obvious one of being able to belly dance. After doing it for a while, you’ll never know how you lived with out it, and people like it, too.

[quote]grew7 wrote: