Whoosh.

Whoosh.

Person X’s neighbour would certainly be fucked.

That’s messed up.

endangering the welfare of a minor would be a charge that comes to mind.

Are you the pedophile, landlord, or person X?

Or a lawyer who doesn’t know how to work this case…

I’m only a law student, AND I’m in Canada, so this is only my opinion and I would suggest that you NOT rely on it for any legal purposes.

Because the landlord in this situation is out of state he could argue that he has some kind of agency relationship set up with the neighbour to inspect the house in question, BUT even in the event that an agency relationship was found to exist, I would assume that there is a statutory requirement there (as there is in my home province) that the landlord give notice that he will be entering the premises. I’m in a year lease, and my landlord has to give me at least 24 hours notice before coming into the house.

Unless the alleged pedophile has actually done anything to the two young daughters I can only see him being charged with trespass (because he failed to give notice to you that he was coming, and therefore had no right to enter the house). The landlord would also be vicariously liable for trespass, assuming you could establish an agency relationship.

You might potentially be able to rescind on the lease agreement because of the trespass, but I would have to look into whatever Residential Tenancies Act exists in your state to know for sure, and I’ve got too many exams to study for to do that :).

I’m only a law student, AND I’m in Canada, so this is only my opinion and I would suggest that you NOT rely on it for any legal purposes.