T Nation

Who Trains for an Hour or Less?

So I started lifting again & for the long-haul this time on April 17th, 2009. I am 27 years old & was roughly 18% body fat, 178 lbs. After seven months of following the TNT diet, I finished up beginner/advanced program & moved to NROL Hypertrophy. Currently I am on Hypertrophy III. I am now 9% bodyfat & 166lbs.

What I can’t put my finger on is how long should a workout really be? Articles suggest spending < 1 hour in a gym, but how can you complete a routine with prescribed rest times? I assume everyone isn’t super-setting everything, & I assume alot of people also overtrain. Just wanted to clarify this.

Thanks,

Gene

I’m normally in the gym for about an hour and a half with a couple minutes warm-up and cool down.

I am in the gym for as long as it takes for me to knock out what i am supposed to be training that day. I don’t have a set rest time, but i know when i’ve rested for to long or when i need more. There is no set amount of time you should be training for. I train for 30 mins sometimes and sometimes i train for 90 mins. Just focus on your movements and getting the most out of each training session. Who really cares how much time other people are spending in the gym?

In Chad Waterbury’s article “4 guaranteed tips” (and repeated in the last “brain blast”) he reckons that the under an hour thing is bullshit.

I’m with johnson on this one, I’m in the gym for as long as I need to be to get done what I need to get done.

Usually I manage to knock it out at around an hour. Quite often my ME Leg day is very short, 30mins or so, and then 10 minutes stretching.

I don’t know what NROL hypertrophy III is, but if it’s working, regardless of how long it’s taking, stick with it.

I have a push/pull/legs routine, doing abs every other day, so i work out 6 days a week. I’m usually in the gym for 45 minutes to 55 minutes, depending if I have abs that day or not.