Who regrets their college choice?

I’ve been sick with depression lately. I’m in my fifth year, going to the college of my hometown, and wishing that 5 years ago I had gone somewhere else. I just feel that all of these other students aroudn the U.S are living these gratifying lives, the lives we always thought college students should lead, and I’m stuck in this rut. Going here was the biggest mistake I’ve ever made. For those of you who regretted your college choice, did you ever get over it?

I attended a small private arts college about an hour away. I went there because I really believed that I wanted a small college that was close to home.

After putting up with 4 years of left wing idealouges, I graduated and took a job that brought me to 80 other schools. I realized that I really would have preferred a nationally known school with a big athletic program and a more beautiful campus (e.g. Wake Forest, Penn State, Auburn), especially if it would have been a better school than where I went (e.g. Duke - where I could have probably walked I for football I’ve been told, UVA, or Michigan).

What has me confused about your post, however, is why you are upset with where you are. If it is because you aren’t getting good grades, that you should be achieving better than you are, or that you haven’t been as involved as you wanted to, then you need to look squarely at yourself. College is what you make of it, and if you blew it for five years, then there is nothing about a different school that would have changed that. If it is because of money, the fact that you lived at home, or that you have to keep explaining where your school is because it’s too small…well, you’re probably about 2 years too late to fix that.