T Nation

Which Martial Arts?

Hello,

I want to learn some martial arts this summer. I’ve never done it before. My options are:

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu
Judo
Kung Fu
Muay Thai

These are the classes offered by my univeristy and i’d prefer to stay here. They are one month long courses and the classes are 2 hours long, twice a week.

My goal is to kick ass basically

I would probably recommend brazilian jiu jitsu. Either that or muay thai or judo. You are probably not going to be able to kick everyones ass by the end of the summer unless you are like 250 pounds of muscle. Brazilian jiu jitsu is fun.

You can probably spar a lot harder with judo or jiu jitsu than in muay thai or kung fu. I don’t imagine that you would throw elbows or knees at your opponent at full force in your university.

-Muay Thai
-BJJ
-Judo (matters if they teach techniques w/o the Gi)

:slight_smile:

I’d do BJJ then Muay Thai.

Search function.

Try them all and pick the one you like best

[quote]JH wrote:
Try them all and pick the one you like best[/quote]

Give this man a prize.

Putting together the letters to construct the words “Muay Thai” or “Judo” doesn’t magically transform the teaching of an art into the greatest quality. Every teacher is different, in terms of quality and teaching style. Some guy could be teaching the “greatest” style on earth, but if he’s a horrible teacher, you will gain nothing from it.

On the other hand, someone could be teaching a “bad” art, but if he’s a good teacher, he will make it work for you and you will gain a lot more from it.

Take them all, find the best teacher, and from there you will know which art to take.

Amazingly, this topic has never been discussed before.

I’m partial to Wing Chun Kung Fu. It’s been proven to be the best.

[quote]CaliforniaLaw wrote:
Amazingly, this topic has never been discussed before.

I’m partial to Wing Chun Kung Fu. It’s been proven to be the best.[/quote]