Which Direction is Best?

Earlier this year I began the War Room Strategies to Maximize Fat Loss. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get it together to stay on a diet and my visits to the gym decreased (I rationalized that school and work took up too much of my time - but i guess it’s always easy to find excuses). Long story short, I managed to build up my strength a bit and GAIN weight.

I recently moved and started at the new gym. I didn’t bother to continue with that specific program. What I do instead is:

3x a week

squats 3x5reps (currently at 265)
bench press 3x5 (currently at 225)
deadlifts 3x5 (currently at 190)
and 1 other exercise at random (military press, bent-over rows, etc)

The current weight I lift has increased since starting anew (1.5 months ago) by 20-45lbs.

Two weeks ago I began yet another diet (and have kept up with it so far). Being a poor graduate student, I opted for simple and cheap:

Breakfast: 3 eggs, 1 can of Tuna, 1 slice of butter
Lunch: 2 chicken breasts, 1 can of greenbeens, 1 slice of butter
Dinner: 2 cans of Tuna, 3tbsp of mayonnaise
Snacks are usually flower-seeds, and protein shakes.
I drink about 1 gallon of water and 2 cans of diet coke or diet dr pepper and usually have a low-carb energy drink.

*My problem is:
At looking at this forum again, articles I’ve seen say that I need to concentrate on either weight-loss or building muscle.

Since I’m 330lbs I want to lose weight; however, I like my increase strength and would like to continue increasing it. What can I change to best accomplish both (with a priority over weight loss)? Or should I simply work with high rep, low weights and work on my diet more?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Nice job on getting started on a solid weight training program and attempting dieting. At your point, I wouldn’t worry about counting calories or any type of dieting at all.