T Nation

Which Deadlift Do I Choose?

Hi Guys

This is my first time on this site and my first post.

I was just wondering which of the following exercises would you choose for the quickest muscle gain.

Would you choose the standard deadlift or the stiff legged deadlift.

I like both versions but i don’t know which one to choose at the moment for my training routine.

Keith

Should use both. If you squat heavy one week stiff leg or RDLs as assistance lift. The following week conventional deadlift heavy and squat light.

[quote]Reed wrote:
Should use both. If you squat heavy one week stiff leg or RDLs as assistance lift. The following week conventional deadlift heavy and squat light.[/quote]

I do almost exactly this, except I do sumo’s heavy instead of conventional deadlifts. And actually it’s every 4-5 days for me, not every week, but same idea.

I think it also depends on your experience level, I wouldn’t recommend doing a RDL without having good conventional form

[quote]dreadlocks1221 wrote:
I think it also depends on your experience level, I wouldn’t recommend doing a RDL without having good conventional form[/quote]

Eh I’ve actually always found RDL’s easier to do than conventional. Although I agree the OP has given us very little info to work with, and I feel like there’s a whole lot of things he should be more concerned about than this specific question he asked.

You mean you have to choose one? fuuuuck. I’ve been doing it wrong. Guess I need to start over.

Hi Guys

Many thanks for the replies. With my currant routine i only have room for 1 of the deadlifts.

I have been training fully for the last 4 years and been training on and off for to many years to count.

Thanks again.

Keith.