T Nation

Whey Protein, Good or Bad?

I’m debating getting a jar of protein – care to weigh in?

Pro: As a vegetarian with scant access to tofu, I don’t get more than 50g of protein most days. That can’t be good.

Con: I’m a novice, and I hate the idea of buying a lot of fancy supplies that I haven’t “earned.” I wouldn’t buy a super-duper racing bike for a few leisurely weekend rides.

I work out six days a week and lift as heavy as I can, but by T-Nation standards I’m still pretty wimpy. (Only four months since the first day I picked up a weight.) So I guess I’m wondering if protein would help someone like me make gains, or if it’s more for people at a competitive level.

Thanks for your help!

“The first rule of whey protein is, you don’t talk about whey protein.”

In the time it took you to start this thread, you could have more than doubled your daily protein intake with two scoops and some whole milk.

What do YOU think?

i used whey protein for a long time and it definitely helps.
recently i made the switch to whey protein isolate after doing some research.
some of those are isopure, iso-100, and nectar.

You don’t have to earn protein, that’s one of the basics, and you definitely need more than 50g.

I use whey protein when I’m busy, and it really helps get it in. Just think of it as a food instead of a supplement.

[quote]AlisaV wrote:

Con: I’m a novice, and I hate the idea of buying a lot of fancy supplies that I haven’t “earned.” I wouldn’t buy a super-duper racing bike for a few leisurely weekend rides.

So I guess I’m wondering if protein would help someone like me make gains, or if it’s more for people at a competitive level.
[/quote]