T Nation

Whey Protein Beginner

So I went and picked up Whey Protein specifically Balance’s 100% Whey.

It was definitely out of my price range but a sacrifice I decided to make. I’ve got 2 months left of my current training (then I return to America) so I want to be in the best condition ever.

I’m hitting the gym about 3 times a week, running 3 times a week, and swimming once a week. To conserve protein powder I was thinking of taking it only on days when I go to the gym. But then the real question is should I take it after swimming as well? I’m a beginner at swimming so usually only swim for about 45minutes to an hour.

I do eat oatmeal so was thinking of doing protein drink after my gym time and protein oatmeal after swimming. Would that be a good way of doing it?

Then while at it I’m training primarily for the Marine Corps Officer Candidate School. I was told to be as lean as possible but wondering if I should try to add a bit of weight through lean muscle by taking a Lean Protein formula instead or maybe even the Mass Building Protein. Obviously I’m gonna finish this one first but for the next container. I weigh 150lbs and am 5’9

Oh and before I make an ass of myself shouldn’t the Balance container I bought come with some sort of scoop? It says 2.5 scoops (30g) but didn’t have any scoop device inside of it so I did the math of 4 Tablespoons = 25g and approximated my serving yesterday. Is this normal for there to be no scoop inside of it?

Look in the bottom; there’s almost always a scoop. Try searching around the bottom with a serving spoon or something.

As to conserving your protein powder: it doesn’t really matter. It is a SUPPLEMENT. If you can satisfy your protein requirements from food alone, then it isn’t necessary.

Do it on that basis alone.

Saying you are going to conserve protein powder is the same exact thing as saying you are going to conserve food. Protein powder is just a convenient way to get calories. It is not special in any way.