Where to Start?

Okay so i have been powerlifting for about two years now. and i really want to get into strongman. i just dont know where to start. should i be training a little while before i enter competitions? where do i find competitions? i live in MO btw. i am 19 years old 6,2 and weigh 345 pounds. now i know thats really heavy but my BF % is 24… not good i know. but that weight i think it could be allot worse. i played football in highschool so i was considering incorporating some agilieties to get in better shape. any help would be appreciated! my best lifts are as follows.
( all raw)
Bench 500

squat 600

deadlift 595

overhead press 235 for 8 reps

[quote]Singingbear78 wrote:
Okay so i have been powerlifting for about two years now. and i really want to get into strongman. i just dont know where to start. should i be training a little while before i enter competitions? where do i find competitions? i live in MO btw. i am 19 years old 6,2 and weigh 345 pounds. now i know thats really heavy but my BF % is 24… not good i know. but that weight i think it could be allot worse. i played football in highschool so i was considering incorporating some agilieties to get in better shape. any help would be appreciated! my best lifts are as follows.
( all raw)
Bench 500

squat 600

deadlift 595

overhead press 235 for 8 reps
[/quote]

I recommend that you go to the NAS site and find a contest then enter. You do not necessarily need to train with implements prior to competing, especially if you have strong gym strength and are fairly athletic.

There are contests and training groups in Missouri, and if you do not see anything you can always contact the State Chairman via the NAS site.

With regard to training I wrote an article called “Creating an Effective Strongman Routine” that you may want to check out (my name is Tom Mutaffis). I cannot post it here but you can Google it.

Thank you for your help. i will do that.

[quote]Singingbear78 wrote: