Where to Start with Powerlifting?

I have been bodybuilding for the past three years and gained massive interest in powerlifting for a while now and want to start but don’t know where to start. I also want to compete one day in a meet!
I’m 104KG and 19 years old
My S/B/D 1RMs are 180KG/140KG/200KG
I have never done a powerlifting program but want to start one. Thanks!

Since you’ve been body building, that is a great base for starting a PL program.

I personally like 531. I would highly recommend the newer 6 week cycle version before deload than the old 3 week and then deload. I also love the theory of the Joker sets as well. You can’t go wrong with it. Keep the bodybuilding stuff in after the main work. Get the “Beyond 531” book. There is years and years of training in there.

2 Likes

5/3/1 is a great program to move to. Wendler makes it very simple. I’ve trained conjugate for about 8 months now and have seen good results from that (Google Westside method). It’s a method and not a program, so it’s more about you knowing yourself and how to troubleshoot your weak points (and what they are- basically the complete opposite of Wendler in terms of simplicity). I’m thinking about running a cycle of Brandon Lilly’s Cube Method to change things up a bit. Chad Wesley Smith has the Juggernaut Method which has produced some good results as well. Ed Coan did his own linear periodization that he’s talked about on several occasions.

In the end, if you’re seasoned at bb you already know this, but it’s less about the program than it is hard work in the right direction. Pick any one of those and put in the work and you’ll get good results.

Chad Wesley Smith actually does an overview of several programs on YouTube that you might want to check out.

2 Likes

Thanks for the help I will definately look into all these and will make an update on how I get on! Thanks again!

1 Like

My recommendation afetr 35 years of under the bar experience: