Where to Begin? Feeling Overwhelmed

This post is probably better suited to a counsellor than a bodybuilding forum, but I could use some direction in regards to training. I’m 37, I have 4 kids under the age of 7 and I’ve been training off and on for almost 20 years. I’ve had numerous injuries, including shoulder surgery in 2011 to repair a torn labrum & deal with a severe loss of cartilage. I live with shoulder pain and numbness in my arm almost daily and I’ve been told to avoid shoulder and chest pressing.

I’ve found myself getting more interested in the big movements lately, squats and deadlifts primarily and in turn I’m feeling the desire to get stronger overall and work hard to gain more muscle before things start to regress. Having said that, I wonder if this is really that important at this stage of my life.

I love being in the gym, but with kids and sports, a full time career, a wife, it’s tough to stay on track. I’ve been reading more about mobility and also looking more at leaning out and becoming more ‘athletic’ but it’s hard to know where to begin. I guess my question is how do I put it all together into something that will still show progress? I want to lift, but I also want to feel better and be able to run and play with the kids. I’m constantly sore after training and some days my shoulder pain is substantial. I honestly don’t have the time to focus on mobility training, cardio and weights, etc. My training seems limited to 6-8 hours a week and many times my workout is cut short for work of family commitments.