Where the Hell Did My DL Go?

Hi guys

Something very weird is going on with my deadlifts…

I have been using 531 for the last 18 months with great gains…I’ve continually hit PRs of some sort every week.

I use a 4 day training program with a 4th week deload

Mon - Deadlift
Wed - Bench
Fri - Squat
Sun - Overhead press

Rarely would any of my lifts regress at all. Yes I have off days but usually these are only a rep or so off my previous best…so it’s nearly continually improvement right across the board.

Except for my deadlifts.

For example yesterday was deadlift day and in my last set I was only able to manage 1 rep in my last set @ 165kg, (should have been 3 or more reps) despite my actual max being 205kg.

This has happened me 3 times this year where my deadlift day has resulted in a dramatic loss of strength (not able to lift around 80% of my actual max)…yet all my other lifts are fine. I have never failed to hit required reps in squat, bench or overhead pressd

How is this possible?

I had thought it might be CNS based but this surely can’t be it as my other lifts are fine and my most recent deload was just 2 weeks ago!

It also can be lack of deadlifting as I haven’t missed a deadlift day in over a year.

Any ideas?

I find if my nutrition sleep and hydration are not spot on i have trouble with the deadlift that day.

Also the deadlift isnt like any other lift. You have to be metally prepared. I think everyone has days like this on the deadlift if they say they dont they are full of shit!

I wouldnt worry to much but if you keep missing reps all the time and it becomes a problem just take a deload week and reset back 2 cycles. Trust me reseting works wonders. Best of luck to you -jkon

Thanks jkon

My eating and hydration are great at the moment and I feel great.

Went into tonight’s workout confident of hitting around 8-10 reps @ 165kg so you can imagine that it’s a massive shock to just do one!