T Nation

Where does the T go?

OK, this is probably a stupid question, but I realized the other day that I just don’t know the answer. So, where does testosterone go? Does a heavy workout actually consume some T? If I naturally have a couch potato T-level of, say, 350, will starting heavy workouts tend to consume the T and drop the level down some, say to 275 while building muscle? Or does T act as a catalyst in anabolism and doesn’t actually get consumed? If the T is not consumed, does it decay and break down? What happens to old T? Just curious.

Im not exactly sure either, but I do know my T levels have INCREASED since I started lifting hardcore, etc, so I doubt it is consumed. I know they have increased by typical “symptoms” ie increased sex drive, etc. I have also read various places lifting increases T levels.

I’m not really up on this either but it is an interesting topic and I’m sure Jason N. and some of the others can provide an in depth discussion. However, I believe during weight lifting, the neuromuscular contractions trigger a signal for free T circulating in the blood to dock at androgen receptors causing the transcription of the genes that trigger strength, hypertrophy, and composition changes. This “docking” of free T with the androgen receptors causes a temperary LOWERING of free T levels which in turn causes the HPTA to sense this lower level of T (since T was consumed during training) and the HPTA calls for more T to be produced to replace that used and in reacting to the temperary shortage, the body overshoots the shortage, thereby casuing T to eventually rise to higher than original levels. Just my take on it. If not training, the body sees less use for T and levels drop. When training, the body sees the demand for T and increases production. But the increased production occurs after training, as a reaction to T consumed in training.