Where Do Job Applications End Up?!

Hey everyone,

I graduated college almost a year ago now with two majors (Finance, Economics) with a GPA of 3.8. I was President of the university’s investment fund ($500,000) my senior year and also occupied positions of Portfolio Manager and Financial analyst the two years prior. I also recently passed the first level of the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) program and am pursuing the second soon.

I am still unemployed after having applied to literally hundreds of jobs and am wondering where all of my applications have gone. I very rarely hear back from any place that I apply and have even cold called, networked, and walked into the offices unannounced looking to speak with HR.

If anyone can shed some light on there experiences finding a job at this time, or if anyone from HR is on this forum can you let me know where all of my applications have gone it would help me out. I am really out of ideas and have no idea what to do!

To be honest most of them will be binned after being scanned and possibly put on record depending on how good/bad the app is.

At least I know our firm keeps every application, digitally, and then shreds the originals. Unless it’s a really bad application - they get the Cookie Monster treatment.

I am not familiar with the cookie monster treatment… Also, do you have any suggestions? I’m out of ideas

[quote]MiniMe23 wrote:
I am not familiar with the cookie monster treatment… Also, do you have any suggestions? I’m out of ideas[/quote]

Sorry, I can’t really offer you any advice from a personal perspective based on what you’ve given us. I can only answer your specific question regarding the applications.

Aside from common sense type stuff like having a strong application and aiming for the type of jobs relevant to your studies, I got nothing. You just have to keep trying and if your field is saturated you may have to consider a lesser post to work your way up from.