Where Did You Guys Start Out?

Hey guys,

I’m a newbie that made a boxing-to-powerlifting switch a few months ago. I have been lifting for 3 months now. And tbh I’m feeling a bit insecure. It seems like I just can’t lift as much as I see all the people on the forums and on internet claiming that they can lift.

About me:
I’m 19 yo,
Height is 1.82m ( = 6ft),
Bw is aprox. 85kg( = 187 lbs)

PRs:
Benchpress - 1x 95kg ( = 209.5 lbs)
Dead lift - 3 singles of 130 kg (286.5 lbs)
Squat - not worth mentioning lol.

I can’t start imagining some of the weight lifted by some guys. Maybe it’s because I’m a newbie. I don’t know. But it sure does hurt my balls lol.

So just wondering, where did you guys start out? What was your age, and do you remember the progress you made with weights?

Help a newbie out! :slight_smile:

You are doing fine. Those numbers will go up fast. I don’t think I was in all that different a state when I started almost two years ago. Look at my training log and start at the beginning and then stop feeling bad. Work hard and don’t worry what others are lifting. It takes time to get there.

When I started lifting weights, at 15 years old, I couldn’t squat my BW. Now, 3 years later, on to 2.5 BW squat, at 210 pounds. Don’t worry about where you begin. Stay consistent, eat right, sleep enough and you will go far.

You’ve been lifting for only 3 months, and already you’re benching 200 and lifting 286?? Seriously? If you’re telling the truth, then you are GIFTED.

Do you have any idea that there are guys in perfect health who struggle and sweat for years and still can’t get their bench to 200? Do you realize some people have to break their balls again and again and again to get their DL past 300?

You’re progressing at warp speed. Keep training for another 3 months, and then 6 months past that. After a year of training, you should be posting really impressive numbers.