When Your Cut Stalls

'Tis the cutting season. I’ve seen a few threads about progress stalling on a cut and wanted to share some insight and hopefully get a discussion going. I wanted to make a list of the primary culprits I see in the majority of cases, and hopefully some of you who log in looking for advice on stalling will find that one or more of these applies to your situation.

To preface, I am by no means an expert, and this is admittedly purely anecdotal. So feel free to dismiss all of it! I believe it will help many of you though if you’re open to a different perspective. Lastly, this is all geared towards natties.

• Eating too much
    Starting off with the most obvious, usually you’re just eating too many calories. Stop relying on TDEE calculators. Your weekly adjustments should 100% be dictated by the previous weeks results and the starting point is somewhat arbitrary.

I understand alot of posters on the forums or fellow “hard-gainers” at the gym will be appalled at how low your calories might get, but they’re not you. And, no disrespect, I usually find the ones claiming your calories are “too low” are not the same guys walking around at <10% bodyfat year round. Getting to that level of leanness is not comfortable and will require some drastic measures, especially if you’ve never been that lean before.

You’re not gonna go into “starvation mode” just because your calories are below 2000. :slight_smile:

• Not enough protein
    This could be my most controversial thought, but I feel that 95% of the time our stallers aren’t eating nearly enough protein to optimize their cut. I’m perplexed by the PROphobia that’s emerged on the forums in the 5 years or so I was away. I’ve personally never seen a natty reach sub 10% bodyfat while losing no muscle and holding that weight for awhile unless they hit at least 1g pro per 1lb bodyweight. In my ideal world, everyone on a cut would be hitting 1.25-1.5. :smiley:

• Too much cardio way too soon