T Nation

When to Switch to a New Workout? Hypertrophy vs Strength

I’ve been doing the 5x5 strong lifts for about 8 months now, but I feel like I need to switch to a different training regiment. The 5x5 worked wonderfully because it was three days a week, which was ideal for my schedule, but it also hit lifts that I knew were important to building a strong body.

While I do feel stronger and look athletic, or like somebody who works out, how/what do I need to do to beef up a little. I’m not saying become a body builder in size, but I see guys in my gym who are absolutely jacked, but never appear to workout at the same intensity that I do. Do I need to switch to a 3x10 plan for a while? What’s the best process moving out of the StrongLifts training?

Get off stronglifts asap. Run a program designed by someone that actually knows how to get people bigger and stronger.

5/3/1, Cube Method, Juggernaut Method, and Westside Barbell for Skinny Bastards would all be great choices.

5x5 is pretty much a hybrid rep set range, which is a big part of the reason it can work so well for newbies & for many other people too.

Now, with regards what sets and reps to use, you have many options, you could actually continue doing 5x5 for all your main lifts & then do a second exercise were you do, as you mentioned something like 3 x 10. You could also start doing 3 x 10 or similar on everything OR you could try something like 10 x 3 combined with higher reps on isolation movements. The beauty of bbing training is that pretty much all of these approaches will work…so, my advice would be find a program you like the look of and go with that. Only experience will tell you EXACTLY what works well for you.

How much bodyweight have you gained in these 8 months? What’s your height, starting weight, current weight, and general bodyfat?

Do a Stronglifts workout on Friday. Find a new program on Saturday. Start the new program on Monday. I really don’t see the confusion.