When to carb up for game

Hi friends,

As you all know Im a semi pro soccer player. Most of the week I eat pretty clean, and I get most of my carbs from potatos and rice during the week.

I like to make sure I have enough carbs for the weekly game on the weekend. I like to eat 3-4 buckwheat pancakes with the aim of carbing up. At the moment I do this about 4 hours before game time.

Question is; is 4 hours enough time for me to have the buckwheat converted to carbs and ready to use for the game?

Sorry if this is a stupid question(especially Mr Chris Colluci).

tweet

[quote]theBird wrote:

tweet[/quote]

LOL

Not a stupid question, but it kinda does make your ‘semi pro’ claims all the more questionable…

[quote]chillain wrote:
Not a stupid question, but it kinda does make your ‘semi pro’ claims all the more questionable…
[/quote]

So whats the answer?

tweet

Try to figure it out yourself, maybe you’ll get smarter.

[quote]chillain wrote:

[quote]theBird wrote:

tweet[/quote]

LOL

[/quote]

European professional soccer players smoke and drink. Just being a pro or semi-pro athlete doesn’t mean you’re on the cutting edge of nutrition.

Bird, a co-worker of mine runs marathons for fun. He normally eats low carb during the day with carbs post run. Last Friday he was eating doughnuts at a morning meeting. That was unusual for him, so I asked if he had a race. Turns out he did on Saturday. He carbs up the day leading up to the race (which starts at around 7 AM).

Seems like you should experiment to find what window works well for you. I’d imagine you’d feel too sluggish eating too close to the game. You could try carbing up the night before and save some quick acting carbs for the morning (4 hrs before) the game.

Go easy on the worms though.

[quote]chillain wrote:

[quote]theBird wrote:

tweet[/quote]

LOL

[/quote]

Maybe not entirely stupid but none the less it is still just a question for the sake on asking a question.

[quote]ds1973 wrote: