When Did You Leave the Nest?

I graduated from college in May 2013.

I’m still living at home, saving up money, and working full time. I earn slightly more than 60K per year and really don’t have that many living expenses right now. Basically all I have is 10K of student loans, which I have 10 years to payoff and about 12K in auto loans, which I have 3 years to payback.

I’m sorta on the fence on whether I should move out my parent’s home or not. I was thinking of making the leap in several more months, but now I’m debating doing it sooner.

Its been challenging for me to hang out with chicks when living at home, and my parents are constantly nagging me. My mother is pretty passive aggressive woman, constantly criticizing others for doing things like dieting, exercising, and setting personal goals. She’s a pretty miserable person who’ll try to bring anyone down that she can lol. Its also hard to eat clean when dinner’s made and on the table everyday.

On the flip side, I’m able to save like 50% of my income living at home. I pay my parents 300/month to live at home, its basically a drop in the bucket compared to what I’d pay living on my own. I’ve thought about getting roommates, but I think it’d remind me of college too much.

So my question is; when did you move out for good? How did you feel about it? And what advice do some of the wiser gents on these boards have to offer to a dumb ass 23 yr old? Thanks for reading!

[quote]24Animal7 wrote:

I’m still living at home, saving up money, and working full time. I earn slightly more than 60K per year and really don’t have that many living expenses right now. Basically all I have is 10K of student loans, which I have 10 years to payoff and about 12K in auto loans, which I have 3 years to payback.

I’m sorta on the fence on whether I should move out my parent’s home or not. I was thinking of making the leap in several more months, but now I’m debating doing it sooner.