T Nation

When Did You Fall In Love With Iron?

Do any of you remember the very first time you decided that you wanted to start lifting weights? The actual moment where you said to yourself…“this is for me!”. Not the reason you decided to start lifting weights. We all know what those are; more muscles, chicks, beat up local bully, chicks, etc.but the actual moment or event that solidified it into your brain that you wanted to lift big iron.

Personally, my iron epiphany was at the YMCA in Youngstown, Ohio in the mid 70’s. I was an awkward doofus teenager and I had wandered into the massive weight room of the Y. The blaring heavy metal music, gigantic men, weight plates, and clouds of chalk put a spell on me that I have never been able(nor cared to)shake.

I was wondering if anyone else can remember the pivotal moment that shifted them to the weight lifting universe and out of the orbit of ordinary men? Any stories out there that you care to share?

Before I started training, I knew that I would be doing this for the rest of my life (even at 12, I knew). Since I started, I have never even considered the alternative. There is just no other way for me.

When I saw my avatar.

I was visiting some relatives and put on my grandfather’s old suit (for some fancy dinner). I looked in a full-length mirror and saw how incredibly scrawny I was.

I couldn’t believe it at first, my reflection almost looked like an optical illusion. I felt like I was trapped in the wrong body.

This was maybe over six years ago, been working out ever since, with only a couple periods of interruption.

I actually started working out for football as a sophomore in high school. As a junior, our offseason training was riddled with competitions on a weekly basis, with the “championships” coming the week before Spring ball started.