When Are You No Longer a Beginner?

A thought occurred to me a few days ago that I may in fact still be a beginner. I’ve been lifting since I was 17, I just turned 22, but compared to everyone on here, most would look at me and think I’m a beginner (6’1’’ 185)…and that weight hasn’t changed for a while. I have pretty solid form on all of the basic exercises, so I’m wondering if I should continue with beginner routines…I’m no longer making the huge gains of a brand-new beginner, but I don’t think I have that foundation complete yet.

When can you say you’ve built a base/“solid foundation” body?

How will I know when I’ve left the beginning stage and jumped to intermediate?

I have a feeling I need to go back to low volume/total body routines if I’m ever going to break this plateau of constantly being 180-185 lbs for the past 3 years…but I just eat 3500 kcal of clean food a day and I lift and I get 6-7 hrs of sleep a night during school and I’m starting to wonder what my sticking point is…

If you think circuit training is weight lifting, are you still a beginner? Isn’t the lat pulldown part of the circuit?

does it matter ? we aint got a forum called intermediate anyways :stuck_out_tongue: ? ← you see what i did thar ?

well anyways i would say you pass on from being a beginner when you stop doing stupid stuff in the gym ?

Try something different have you tried 10x3’s? Change your training parameters frequently enough to keep you body guessing, but it sounds like you need to eat more calories, why not put them up to 4,500 and train hard for a month to see what happens?

“Beginner” is a subjective word. There is no quantitave measurement that determine whether you’re a beginner or not.

Novice

A person training regularly for a period of 3-9 months. This strength level supports the demands of vigorous recreational activities.

Intermediate