T Nation

What's Your Career?

I’m just interested in what peoples current careers are and how they ended up there/what they did to get there.

I’m in college, studying business, but not really sure what I want to do with myself…so I’m looking for experiences.

[quote]GetSwole wrote:
I’m just interested in what peoples current careers are and how they ended up there/what they did to get there.

I’m in college, studying business, but not really sure what I want to do with myself…so I’m looking for experiences.[/quote]

I studied business and information systems (lots of computer science classes). I started off is a junior level programmer but never wanted to stay that way. Now I manage IT projects (mostly software) which was what I wanted to do. Part of finding a good job is knowing what you want to do. I recommend working with your career services department if there is one.

According to filthy moccasin-wearing hippies everywhere, I apparently kill babies and police the third world.

Project Controls

I joined the military after high school and used my GI Bill for college. I majored in Finance but afterwards decided I didn’t want to wear a shirt and tie. Most of the people I work with have Engineering or Construction Management degrees. I started out working overseas for a couple of years and then transferred back stateside.

[quote]Contrl wrote:
According to filthy moccasin-wearing hippies everywhere, I apparently kill babies and police the third world.[/quote]

Don’t forget throwing puppies off cliffs.

I started out pre-med, wanted to be a brain surgeon, but quickly realized I suck at math!

I sell roofing. It’s a great job if you want to work in an environment where you don’t have to worry about tender feelings and being politically correct. I fit in well but I really want his job:

[quote]Contrl wrote:
According to filthy moccasin-wearing hippies everywhere, I apparently kill babies and police the third world.[/quote]

[quote]Contrl wrote:

Military?