Whats Wrong with Cardio!?

Just a few questions.

I keep seeing negative comments on cardio. In my personal situation, i’m in the process of losing a lot of weight. Around 40-50lbs of it.

Here is my workout…

Monday
30 min eliptical
Lower Body

Tuesday
30 min eliptical
Upper Body

Wednesday
30 min eliptical

Thursday
30 min eliptical
Lower Body

Friday
30 min eliptical
Upper body

Saturday
30 min eliptical

Sunday
Football

From what i’ve read, this is too much cardio. Which boggles the mind because I thought thats what you did to lose the weight.

Anyways. just asking

Well, you should be lifting too. I lost 50lbs. Most if came off with only diet and an active job. When I started lifting the last 30 melted off, and I did very little cardio during that time.

That said, a 30 minute walk or something is probably good for both your sanity and health. So go with it.

If it works, then why the fuck would anyone care what “they” say?

[quote]boyscout wrote:

If it works, then why the fuck would anyone care what “they” say?[/quote]

I understand that but I also understand that most newbies who have limited knowledge of healthy living tend to ‘waste’ time doing certain things. I just want to make sure I didn’t waste any efforts

Just take it easy, like a walk or something, on Wed and Sat and you should be fine.
On the other days, do your lifting first then cardio, OR have at least 8 hours in between cardio and lifting. On those days smash the cardio real hard as if you are training for a long distance event. Personally I would lift, and then cardio.

[quote]From what i’ve read, this is too much cardio. Which boggles the mind because I thought thats what you did to lose the weight.
[/quote]

If it boggles your mind, you are better off smashing it hard, then resting a day, and consuming a better quality food plan rather than eating the same and doing more and more work.