T Nation

What's up with Personal Trainers?

I myself do some personal training as a side job while I’m in college but it really gets my blood pressure up watching many of the other trainers. It seems as though most personal trainers are really giving the profession a bad name. It’s not uncommon to see exercises being taught in ways that could cause injury, looking around while their clients are performing an exercise, or actually having discussions during an exercise. It just really ticks me off and I’d love to just go up and say something … but I don’t.

I am studying exercise physiology in school right now and I’m a newbie here on t-nation and love the articles and the people here. I try to incorporate principles taught here and also ones I’ve learned in my education. I’m sure there are other trainers in here like me that are really trying hard to get clients achieving their goals. What do you guys do? Do you say something to trainers? Do you not work at a gym with trainers like that?

It just really irked me this morning and thought I’d open up a discussion about trainers. Any other experiences like this?

What they do is none of your business. It’s extremely bad form to second-guess a trainer in front of a client. You would irritate him, confuse the client, and make a permanent enemy that may badmouth you in the future.

For the most egregious offenses (like rounded-back power cleans), you may pull the trainer aside during the workout for a one-on-one outside of the client’s earshot. For anything less, wait until the client has left before you voice an opinion.

DI

Every gym is filled with trainers like that. Just keep the clients you have (by getting results) and slowly build your base. I used to let them annoy me but I’m to grown for that (I’m a grown ass man).

Some stories–