T Nation

What's the Best Way to Progress?

I just started training the O-lifts again with the goal of competing in Feb. I've taken a coaching workshop (O-lifts for Sports Performance)and did some training with the full lifts for a couple months last year. Between then and now, just power variations here and there.

What I've done so far is work up to weight where it gets difficult, but I can still do with good technique most of the time, and do doubles at that weight. For the snatch my problem is getting down to the bottom. At 105 lbs. (I think I can probably Power Snatch about 20-30 pounds heavier than this weight) I'm split between getting down smoothly; stopping around a half squat, then getting down; And catching in a half squat off balance and standing up right away.

I've worked up to 8 sets of 2 on a 105 lb Snatch and 145 C & J at ~155 lb. BW, and plan on going for 10 sets tomorrow. This workout's usually about an hour, I haven't started squatting yet (My FS is around 200 lbs, so I'm thinking getting good at the competition lifts is more important now)

What would be the best way to progress? Should I add more sets, more weight, or keep it the same until my technique is more consistent?

Also, any accessory work to help getting down in the snatch?

the way I learned to snatch was to just make myself go under it. this is assuming you have the flexibility to drop into a full snatch and it's simply an issue of lacking the timing/coordination/balance/nerves, etc. to actually get into a stable position under a loaded barbell. start off with just the bar and do some full snatches with it. don't power it. get comfortable with an empty bar. gradually add weight over time. eventually you will be able to full snatch significantly more than you can power snatch.

1) Ditch the power versions, you will NEVER learn to full Snatch properly by not full Snatching.
2) Hammer the bar work, 3reps x 3sets from each of the key positions,
-on tip toes
1: bent arms
2: straight arms