T Nation

What's Better: More Reps or Less

I’ve been lifting for about 1 1/2 years. I keep trying to mix it up a little. I have always done Squats and Deadlifts. I went with 5X5 on each. Lately I have changed to 5X8 on each. I did lower the weight I was using in order to do more reps.

For the Deadlift I started this. I went from
5X145 TO this: 8X140
5X170 8X170
5X190 8X190
5X210 8X210
5X260 8X240

The 8 reps gives me a lot more work as far as weight lifted. I guess what I’m asking is, would it be better to stay with the 5X5 and keep trying to increase the weight or use the 8 reps and do more total work. I switched from the 5X5 because it seemed I was really taxed at trying to lift more than 260. Any comments will be appreciated.

You could try 8x5 instead. When you finish your top set, drop back in weight, repeat the last three sets again. This will give you even more volume.

Waving the weights can be a very successful strategy. Ian King has an article about it on this site.

Thanks for the feedback sharetrader. I will find that article.

The reps/weight debate has been going on since the beginning of bodybuilding and the reason that it continues to this day is that people get results with both systems. The other thing to consider is that you don’t have to choose; you can do both. I use a cascading system of reps and weights in two week blocks. For two weeks, I try to lift in the 10 rep range. As soon as I am able to go to 12 reps, I add weight to get me back to ten. After two weeks, I go to an eight rep system, then six, then four, then three and then repeat the whole process again. Gradually, my weights at all levels increase. Keeping a log keeps me on track and motivated to try harder every time I lift.

There is no one “best” way to workout. If there was, we’d all be doing it!

I do very high reps (50+), then finish with 2’s and 3’s.

What’s better? The one you haven’t done in a while.