What's a Decent Deadlift?

I was wondering what a decent deadlift would be for a 51 (soon to be 52 )yo male?
I’ve lifted so long without a partner, and the gyms aren’t exactly filled with 50+ yo guys lifting seriously.

I’m ~ 6’, 230lbs. I just came back in the last month from a 5 month lay off; otherwise I’ve been training for 25+ years. I’m pulling 455lbs. right now, after my 4th dead session since I’ve been back. Is this any good?

P.S. I’ve never considered myself a powerlifter, I’ve never trained specifically for powerlifting, and I’ve never competed.

Thanks,

Crowbar

3x Bodyweight

Oh golly. Cmon man. The thread directly below this one at this time of posting is a question that is exactly the same.

Use the powerlifting USA site for tables for a masters lifter and check it.

I am about your same dimensions and age. My last deadlift PR was 405, but I have done plenty of work simce then so think it might be close to yours. So heck yeah, 455 is a great deadlift!

Seriously though, as suggested check out one of the powerlifting charts for masters if you want true comparisons.

[quote]detazathoth wrote:
3x Bodyweight[/quote]
decent - adequate, passable

Your definition of decent seems… indecent :slight_smile:

3x is above decent.

I would say maybe 2.5x BW is a decent deadlift for someone of any age.

Not to mention the dude asked “for a 51 year old”!

3x BW for a 51 year old would be pretty nuts.

You know looking at the USPA classifications, if you have a 3x bodyweight deadlift:
if you’re in the 148’s that is 39lbs less than what they define as elite
165’s is 27lbs less
181’s is 19lbs less
198’s is 10lbs more
220’s is 44lbs more
242’s is 97lbs more
and so on

Anyway to answer your question for a 51 year old bloke I’d be pretty impressed with a 455 pull :slight_smile:

You can use this chart and then take off about 10% due to age