T Nation

What Would You Do If You Were Me - Bulk or Lose More Fat?

Stats:26/6’2/193lbs

Hi everyone,so I’ve been cutting for 2 months now and I’m currently eating about 1970 calories a day.
I’m training 5 days a week(3 full body + 2 core strength training with prowler push and jumping rope)

My goal is to be jacked and make my abs become visible,do you think I should lose more fat or start bulking now then cutting ? I appreciate it ahead!

I would lift weights 4 times a week, rather than having 2 whole days dedicated to core. Making the 5th day core and conditioning is fine.

4 Likes

Thank you for your advice! Would you cut or bulk if you were me?

Neither. I don’t subscribe to those methodologies.

I would train hard and eat to recover from it.

10 Likes

What do your macros look like?
Can you post your nutrition program?

1 Like

Sure.So my daily protein intake is 194 g carbs is 194 g and fat is 43 g.
Morning: 110 g of Quaker quick oats + 60 g of frozen blueberrie + 2 scoops of whey isolate chocolate + 28 g of natural peanut butter

Lunch:110 g of Mixed frozen veggies + 160 g of chicken breast + 80 g of white rice

Dinner:200 g of sweet potato + 3 eggs with 80 g of egg whites + 80 g of black beans + 60 g of green beans.

Snack:120 g of greek yogurt + 1 scoop of Whey isolate

I’ve seen you say this a few times. I really don’t understand it. Does that mean eat enough for the scale to go up? Weights to go up? Both? Neither? I feel like I’m over thinking this.

Don’t chase scale weight: that is how people get fat. Lifts going up is good. Being able to handle your workload is crucial. If you aren’t recovering between sessions, try more food.

4 Likes

How do you determine if you’ve recovered between sessions?

Asking this question leads me to believe you have never been underecovered, which is a good thing.

If you are ready to perform and complete the session, you were recovered. If you consistently fail to do that, you are most likely underrecovered.

4 Likes