T Nation

What Would You Change from the Beginning?

Im new to T-Nation and its been 2 months since ive started going to the gym.

Im 21yrs, 5'3 and 120lbs. My goal is to gain mass and cut it so that my body looks lean and long. I started the routine based on this website and so far I've been happy with my progress. I started to follow the diets many people have for weight gaining and mass gain workouts. Ive read the beginners articles and some post for newbies.

My questions is, what would you do differently when you look back at the beginning of your training? What would you chagne so that you would prgoress faster and more efficiently?

i would spend more time eating if i could start again. i'd also focus more on the big lifts (deadlift, squat, bench, row variations) and going heavy.

I wouldn't change much at all...aside from forcing myself to do more leg work.

Most of the mistakes people make only help them learn more in the long run...unless they are the type to quit.

If I were doing it now, I wouldn't have eaten quite so much junk food to gain the initial weight...but by doing that, I learned where my limits are and what I can get away with.

Mistakes in bodybuilding only hurt you if you are bad at learning from them.

Absoloutely nothing. It's a long road ahead and mistakes will be made. It's a learning experience. If I started perfectly and as I progressed I hit a wall of some sort, how the hell could I deal with that if I never had to work through smaller issues? Learn as much as you can and then go lift some heavy shit.

My goals aren't the same as yours but some of what I would have done differently apply to you as well.

First, I would follow the program 100% if your goal is what the program's goal is. My first "real" program was rippetoe and my biggest mistake was starting out right away with heavy weight. I've no idea how come I never got injured back then, especially on the deadlift and I do now but I so should have listened.