T Nation

What Would Be a Good Size Goal for Me?

I’ve been lifting consistantly for about 2 years now. Trying to make up for sedintary jobs/lifestyle in my youth. Now I’m 32, 5’7 and weigh around 226lbs bodyfat around 20%…not bad considering I was around 250lbs a few years ago. Bench around 300lbs, Squat 400lbs and Deadlift 300lbs. A good friend is head of the local bodybuilding association…recently she told me she wants to recruit me but I have to cut down extensively first. I’m not stupid enough to think I could ever be a pro or do this overnight but any advice/ goal that would help?

Unless you want to compete in one of the weight restricted divisions, it doesn’t really matter. You just need to look big, rather than actually being big.

Yeah, guessing a target weight is silly. You’ll see guys who weigh more than they appear to and vice versa. Just work on adding muscle and losing fat and eventually it will “come together” as a good enough body composition where a ln actual contest prep would be a good idea.

S

Yeah…Idk about my body composition as well as I should. I just dunno how much weight I should drop…I hold a sh*tload of water too.

Forgive the lousy camera work…my wife went to work before I could ask her to take the photo

A ballpark estimate, but I suspect you’d have to drop 60# to be stage-ready.

I’d say the best approach would be to set up a diet that SUPPORTS your training but doesn’t retain the “extra.” You’ve definitely got muscle there, just need to INTELLIGENTLY (no crash dieting!) whittle away while still being able to add more LBM.

Also, if you’re unassisted, you can’t retain water :wink:

S

based on what? Your appearance? That’s not water, my man.

I’d guess a similar number, it’ll be hard to gauge while you’re still carrying a lot of fat. You’ll probably have a clearer picture once you get down to around 180-190.